Go to current week.



Date
Time
Place*__
Speakers
Title
Comments, Links,...
Tue, Jan 20
2:00 pm
MSR
All participants

Organizational Meeting

All should attend!
Wed, Jan 21
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Multiple stellar populations in globular clusters
Discussion leader: Corinne Charbonnel
Blog Entry
Thu, Jan 22
11 am
FR
Fred Rasio
Tutorial on runaway collisions in young star clusters
Blog Entry
Thu, Jan 22
2:15 pm
Aud
Simon Portegies Zwart, Evert Glebbeek, Stefan Umbreit
Runaway Collisions and IMBH Formation
Blog Entry
Fri., Jan 23
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: LMXB formation and evolution - Observations
Discussion leader: Pepi Fabbiano
Blog Entry
Mon, Jan 26
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion

Mon, Jan 26
12:15 pm
Aud
Steinn Sigurdsson

Blackboard Lunch Talk:

Emergent Phenomena in Negative Heat Capacity Systems: Fundamental Physics from Dense Star Clusters

Tue, Jan 27
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion

Tue, Jan 27
12:30 pm
SSR
Michiko Fujii, Anna Lisa Varri, Chris Waters
Short Talks: Structure of GCs and Their Dynamics

Wed, Jan 28
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: r_h vs r_t vs r_J
Discussion leader: Holger Baumgardt
Blog Entry
Wed, Jan 28
12:30 pm
SSR
David Chernoff, Sungsoo Kim
Short Talks: Lifetimes of Clusters in Galactic Tidal Fields
Blog Entry
Thu, Jan 29
11 am
FR
Chris Waters
Tutorial on observed globular cluster mass functions

Thu, Jan 29
2:15 pm
Aud
Mike Fall, Marc Gieles
Evolution of the Globular Cluster Mass Function

Fri, Jan 30
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: LMXB formation and evolution - Theory
Discussion leader: Natasha Ivanova
Blog Entry
Mon, Feb 2
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: IMBHs in the Galactic center
Discussion leader: Steve Berukoff (UCLA)
Tues, Feb 3
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: How do you make helium-rich stars?
Discussion leader: Natalie Hinkel
Notes & Blog Entry
Wed, Feb 4
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: More about multiple populations
Discussion leader: Natalie Hinkel
Thu, Feb 5
11 am
FR
Fred Rasio
Tutorial on stellar collisions and mergers

Thu, Feb 5
2:15
Aud
Barbara Lanzoni, Francesco Ferraro, Nathan Leigh
Blue Stragglers
Blog Entry
Fri, Feb 6
11 am
FR
All participants
Globular Cluster Formation
Discussion leader: Steve Zepf
Fri, Feb 6
2:00 pm
SSR
Mark Krumholz (UCSC)
Star Cluster Formation: Lessons from the Local Universe

Fri, Feb 6
3:30 pm
SSR
Genevieve Parmentier
Gas Expulsion & Connection between Core Mass Function & Cluster Mass Function

Mon, Feb 9
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion

Tues, Feb 10
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: SPH
Discussion leader: Stephan Rosswog
Blog Entry
Wed, Feb 11
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Questions about GCs
Discussion leader: Hans Zinnecker
Blog Entry
Thu, Feb 12
11 am
FR
Lars Bildsten
Tutorial: White Dwarfs
Handouts:


Blog Entry
Thu, Feb 12
2:15 pm
Aud
Brad Hansen, John Fregeau, Stephan Rosswog
White Dwarfs in GCs
Blog Entry
Tue, Feb 17
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Long Gamma Ray Bursts (& Young Clusters?)
Discussion leader: Ed van den Heuvel
Handouts:


Blog Entry
Wed, Feb 18
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Short Gamma Ray Bursts (& Old Clusters?)
Discussion leader: Vicky Kalogera
Wed, Feb 18
2 pm
SSR
John Fregeau, Sverre Aarseth, Rainer Spurzem
N-body Simulation Methods: Monte Carlo vs Direct N-body
Fregeau's slides:
Spurzem's notes on Numerical Methods and on Special Hardware
Thu, Feb 19
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Multiplicity in Young Dense Clusters
Discussion leader: Hans Zinnecker
refs: Carney et al (2005) AJ
Kohler,Zinnecker, Jarhass
Hogeveen (1987)
Halbwachs
Kouwenhoven
Umbreit
Correia et al (2007)
Tokovinin
Blog Entry
Thu, Feb 19
2:15 pm
Aud
Rosemary Mardling, Natasha Ivanova, Steinn Sigurdsson
Triple Stars

Fri, Feb 20
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Spectral Modeling & Ages of Star Clusters
Discussion leader: Peter Anders
Blog Entry and references & plots
Mon, Feb 23
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion
Blog Entry
Tues, Feb 24
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion
Blog Entry
Wed, Feb 25
11 am
FR
All participants
Post-Newtonian effects
Discussion leader: Rainer Spurzem
References
Thu, Feb 26
11 am
FR
Ed van den Heuvel
More about LGRBs and starburst galaxies

Blog Entry
Thu, Feb 26
2:15 pm
Aud
Chatterjee, Downing, Fragos, Lajoie, Leigh
Current Projects from KITP Clusters09 Affilates

Fri, Feb 27
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Massive Close Binary Evolution

Blog Entry
Mon, Mar 2
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion
Blog Entry
Tues, Mar 3
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Blue Stragglers:
Back-of-the-Envelope evolution calculations

Discussion leaders: Evert Glebbeek
Blog Entry

Wed, Mar 4
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Blue Stragglers in Dwarf Galaxies
Discussion leader: Simone Zaggia

Blog Entry
Wed, Mar 4
4 pm
Broida 3302
Aaron Romanowsky
Mass and Angular Momentum in Early-Type Galaxies
UCSB Astrophysics seminar
Thu, Mar 5
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Globular Cluster Formation
Discussion leader: Jay Strader
Blog Entry References
Thu, Mar 5
2:15 pm
Aud
Matt Turk (Stanford), Evan Scannapieco, Loren Hoffman
Star clusters at high redshift and through galaxy formation and evolution

Fri, Mar 6
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Tidal Tails
Discussion leader: Simone Zaggia
Blog Entry References
Mon, Mar 9
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Evolution of the Stellar Mass Function in Globular Clusters
Discussion leader: Guido de Marchi
Blog Entry
Tues, Mar 10
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Surface brightness profiles in GCs
Discussion leader: Eva Noyola
Blog EntryReferences
Wed, Mar 11
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: GC orbits and disruption
Discussion leader: Aaron Romanowsky
Blog Entry References

Thu, Mar 12
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion:Globular Cluster Systems
Discussion leader: Steve Zepf
Blog Entry
Thu, Mar 12
2:15 pm
Aud
Steve Zepf, Jay Strader, Jean Brodie
Extragalactic Globular Clusters

Fri, Mar 13
11 am
FR
Vaso Pavlidou (Caltech)
Gamma-ray sources in globular clusters?
Blog Entry
Mon, Mar 16
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion
Blog Entry
Tue, Mar 17
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Implications of fast rotating massive stars for gamma-ray burst
Discussion leader: Evert Glebbeek
Blog Entry
Wed, Mar 18
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: tutorial on multiple populations
Discussion leader: Alison Sills
References
Help with calming discussions:
Wed, Mar 18
2 pm
Aud
Francesca D'Antona
Multiple Stellar Populations in GCs

Thu, Mar 19
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Tutorial on Gravitational Waves
Discussion leader: Cole Miller
Notes from discussion
Thu, Mar 19
2:15 pm
Aud
Ilya Mandel (Northwestern), Richard O'Shaughnessy (PSU)
Gravitational Wave Sources from Globular Clusters

Fri, Mar 20
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Evidence for (IM)BHs in GCs
Discussion leader: Eva Noyola
References
Mon, Mar 23
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion

Mon, Mar 23
12:15 pm
Aud
Cole Miller

Blackboard Lunch Talk:

Black Holes in Dense Star Clusters
Steinn takes note of THE BET
Tue, Mar 24
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: cluster mass-radii relations
Discussion leader: Arunav Kundu
Tue, Mar 24
2 pm
SSR
Kuepper, Pasquato
Current projects from KITP Clusters09 Affilates

Wed, Mar 25
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Evidence for (IM)BHs in GCs II
Discussion leader: Tom Maccarone
Blog Entry
Thu, Mar 26
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Neutron Stars
Discussion leader: Philipp Podsiadlowski
Blog Entry
Thu, Mar 26
2:15 pm
Aud
Podsiadlowski, Kalogera, Ivanova
Neutron Stars: Formation, Kicks & Retention

Fri, Mar 27




Cesar Chavez holiday: KITP closed
Mon, Mar 30
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: planets in clusters
Discussion leader: Melvyn Davies
Blog Entry
Tue, Mar 31
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Core collapse: theory and observational signatures
Discussion leader: David Chernoff
Blog Entry
Wed, Apr 1
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Binary fractions in clusters
Discussion leader: Jarrod Hurley
Thu, Apr 2
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Open Clusters
Discussion leader: Bob Mathieu
Blog Entry
Thu, Apr 2
2:15 pm
Aud
Hurley, Geller
Open Clusters

Thu, Apr 2
5:30 pm
Courtyard
Heggie
The Million Body Problem
KITP Chalk Talk & reception; RSVP to charmien@kitp.ucsb.edu by March 31 to attend
Fri, Apr 3
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Open Questions & ways to proceed
Discussion leader: Stephan Justham
Mon, Apr 6
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: IMBH workshop report
Maccarone, Trenti, Umbreit
UC Irvine workshop
Tue, Apr 7
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: N-body model results
Discussion leader: Douglas Heggie
Blog Entry
Tue, Apr 7
2 pm
SSR
Van de Ven, Trenti


Wed, Apr 8
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion: Globular Clusters in Late-Type Dwarf Galaxies
Discussion leader: Paul Goudfrooij
Some recent references on this topic
Blog Entry
Thu, Apr 9
11 am
FR
All participants
Program Summary
Discussion leaders: Alison Sills, Enrico Vesperini
Blog Entry 1
Blog Entry 2
Fri, Apr 10
11 am
FR
All participants
Discussion and Program Wrap-up

........................
...............




*Aud=Auditorium, FR= Founders Room, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room
[TOP]